

## **MEMO**

Date: November 16, 2012

**To:** Strategic Priorities and Policy Committee

City of London

**From:** LCC Board of Directors

**Subject:** London Convention Centre Corporation Board Term Recommendations

## Recommendation:

The LCC Board of Directors recommends the following second term community appointments:

- 1. Second 3-year term for Jeannine Cookson, Fanshawe College and Dr. Ted Hewitt, UWO. The first two-years of the second term to run until November 30, 2014 to be approved by the current sitting Council.
- 2. Second 2-year term for Michael Seabrook, CEO of the London International Airport for 2013 to November 30, 2014.

## Background:

Under Section 4.1 of City of London By-law NO. A-5357-298 the LCC Board currently consists of the Mayor as a member ex officio and ten members appointed by Council:

- Two of whom shall be members of Council
- Six of whom may be engaged full-time in or otherwise representative of one of the following sectors of the community:
  - hospitality
  - travel and transportation
  - health
  - business
  - marketing or public relations
  - digital media
  - sports
  - agriculture or agrifoods
  - education
- one of who shall not be engaged either full-time or part-time in any sector mentioned above
- one whom may, but need not, be a member of the not-for-profit corporation Emerging Leaders London Community Network

The LCC Board seeks potential Board members who are leaders in their industry field and who are connectors to their community enhancing the LCC's potential to attract new convention opportunities for the City.

The current LCC Board of Directors includes the following community appointments:

Board Appointment	Sector Rep.	First Term	Second Term	Total Potential Years Served
Kristina Shaw, Director at Large	Emerging Leaders	2008-2010	2011-2013	5.75
Brian Soanes	Business	2010-2011	2012-2014	5
Dr. Ron Holliday	Medical	2011-2013	2014-2016	6
Dr. E. Hewitt	UWO - Institutions	2010-2012	2013-2015	6
Jeannine Cookson	Hospitality – Fanshawe College	2010-2012	2013-2015	5.5
Michael Seabrook	Travel/Transportation	2011-2012	2013-2014	4
John Irwin	Ivey School of Business	2012-2014	2015-2017	6